Delivering dance to more than one million Kansas Citians since 1984.
Call Us: 816.471.6003

Benefit 2013

Ailey II's Gentry George. Photo Eduardo Patino, NYC_EPP_3477

Ailey II in Donald Byrd’s Shards.  Photo by Eduardo Patino, NYC

KCFAA’s Benefit, like its Gala, serves two purposes – to raise funds necessary to help sustain KCFAA’s year-round programs, and to bring together people from diverse ethnic and corporate communities.

Ailey II company’s edgy, fresh performance takes place in the intimacy of the historic Folly Theater, and is followed by a hot After Party with tapas, desserts and dancing. Our Benefit is the most innovative and inclusive fundraiser in town!

Benefit 2013 will be held Saturday, October 12 at 7:30pm

at the Folly Theater!

After Party at Downtown KC Marriott, Count Basie Ballroom

Call 816.471.6003 x1112

Purchase Benefit 2013 Tickets here!

 Honorary Chairs

Samuel K. Cullan M.D., J.D. and James D. Landrum

Nicole Corbett Wang and Myron L. Wang

Benefit Chairs

Angela M. Bennett

Sherri L. Wattenbarger

Host Committee

Chairs: Karren Crouch and Niki Lee Donawa

Deborah Alves

Lynn Hoffman Carlton

Thalia Cherry

Bunni Copaken

Sharon Hoffman

Terri Thomas

Pam Woodard

Corporate Committee

Bunni Copaken

Heather Humphrey

Robin Royals

Theater Seating Chairs

Marcia H. Bailey

M. Wood

After Party Committee

Chairs: Betty Anderson and Marcia Lane

Melanie Bellinger

Melonee Cason

Cynthia Stingley

Patrons’ Party Host

Dan Nilsen

Benefit Sponsors and Hosts

Gold Star–$20,000



Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Kansas City

Waddell & Reed Financial, Inc


DST Systems, Inc.

Halls Kansas City

Laura and Lance Welch

Benefactor Hosts–$3,000

Copaken Family Foundation

Samuel K. Cullan M.D., J.D. and James D. Landrum

Gallagher Metzler Insurance

Husch Blackwell LLP

Pioneer Services

Prairie Capital Management, LLC

Stinson Morrison Hecker LLP

Nicole Corbett Wang and Myron L. Wang

Phyllis A. Washington

Michael L. Weaver, MD

Patron Hosts–$1,800   

Marcia H. Bailey

BNIM Architects


Commerce Bank of Kansas City

Global Prairie

Isle of Capri Casinos

John and Ann Readey and Bryan Cave LLP


Lewis, Rice & Fingersh

Nason Lui MD PA and Monique Pittman Lui

McCown Gordon Construction

Muriel McBrien Kauffman Foundation


Tina Sprinkle/Pilates 1901

Truman Medical Centers

Susan and Chris Wally

Tyrone Aiken and Dennis Brown
Marsha Bacote-Alleyne and Esmond A. Alleyne
Terry Anderson and Michael Henry
Debby Y. and Gary Ballard
Angela M. Bennett
Bob and Libby Berkebile
Jim Blair
Debbie Brooks
Judith Burngen
John Butcher
Pati Chasnoff and Deedee King
Mark and Thalia Cherry
Congressman Emanuel and Dianne Cleaver
Bunni and Paul Copaken
Karren and Dr. Thomas Crouch
Niki Lee Donawa and Brian Donawa
John and Ericka Duker
Alice and Alexander Ellison
SuEllen and Harvey Fried
Carmen and Allan S. Gray, II
Heather and James Humphrey
Drs. Anne Lambert Johnson and Nelson Johnson
Jackie and Lynn Johnson
Roger Kelley
Lon and Marcia Lane
Sandra and Joel Leibsohn
Siobhan McLaughlin Lesley
Nason Lui MD PA and Monique Pittman Lui
Dr. Thomas B. and Rebecca H. McKeel
Jon and Walter Porter
Leisa and Ralph Reid
Doris and Robin C. Royals
Lynda and Robert Shapiro
Dr. Teressa Skeete and Kashim M. Skeete
Kelvin Walls and Sarah Starnes
Barbara Anne Washington
N. Michelle and Cornell Webb
Todd J. Werts and Dr. Dianne Smith
Bill and Ronda White
Diane Ball Wilkerson
Brian D. Williams and C. Stephen Metzler
Everlyn L. Williams, Ed.D. and Roger C. Williams, Jr. Ed.D.
Mark and Pam Woodard

Dr. and Mrs. Stephen Griffin
Jim and Judy Heeter
Sharon and John Hoffman
Peggy and Bill Lyons
Dr. Christie Gooden Magee and Mr. Gregory Magee
UMKC Chancellor Leo and Mrs. Yvette Morton
Phil and Lee Ann Orscheln
Dr. and Mrs. Henry Randall
Marc Taormina, MD
Mr. Tom and Dana Turner
Sherri L. Wattenbarger and Brian E. Beins

Regina and Reginald Bassa
Lennie and Jerry Berkowitz
Karren and Dr. Thomas Crouch
Samuel K. Cullan M.D., J.D. and James D. Landrum
Gayle and Bruce Krigel
Jeannette Nichols
Jean and Dr. Allen Parelman
Myra and Lester Siegel, Jr.
Betsey and Rick Solberg
Susan Stanton
Frank and Helen Wewers
M. and John Wood
Beth and Bill Zollars

George K. Baum Foundation
Kay and John Callison
Gary Dickinson Family Charitable Foundation
Jose L. and Denise K. Evans
Terry and Kerry Holton
Barb and David Nicely
Diane K. Watkins
Brian D. Williams and C. Stephen Metzler

Print Friendly

Fund a Need

Your support helps to provide art education and inspiration to school children, educators, parents, and audience members. No matter the size, all donations are significant and appreciated!

Donate Today

Join other Donors

Donors at all giving levels receive: Newsletters, Advance ticket information, Event invites and the satisfaction that annual gifts support dance all year! Donors from the Assemble giving level on up also receive Ailey performance ticket discounts!

Become A Member Today

KCFAA Studio Program

Start here to pay your Studio Registration Fee. Then contact Michael about Studio Program details. Contact Michael at 816.6003 x1120 or email him at, for Program details.

Studio Registration Fee